Certification Requirements for Commercial Landscape Maintenance Operators When Applying Pesticides

Florida Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services

Division of Agricultural Environmental Services

Bureau of Licensing and Enforcement



Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services Nicole "Nikki" Fried, Commissioner Florida Law requires that anyone performing pest control services (applying insecticides, herbicides, and fungicides – including 'weedn-feed' products) must have a pest control business license from the Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services. If you are a landscape maintenance operator, you cannot apply <u>any</u> pesticides (herbicides, insecticides, or fungicides) as part of your services without first obtaining the proper certification for your employees.

Penalties for breaking the law can be as high as \$5,000 per violation!

The Limited Certification for Commercial Landscape Maintenance certificate is available to commercial landscape maintenance operators for pesticide application. This certificate allows the certificate holder to make pesticide applications to plant beds and ornamental plants only. It does not allow you to make applications to lawns or turfgrass, nor to operate a pest control business.

How to Apply for Limited Certification in Commercial Landscape Maintenance

STEP 1: Contact the Bureau of Licensing and Enforcement and obtain an application package which includes the following:DACS Form 13604: Limited Certification for Commercial Landscape Maintenance Personnel

- Instructions for Limited Certification for Commercial Landscape Maintenance Personnel STEP 2: Call the University of Florida, IFAS Publications Office at 1-800-226-1764 to order the following study manuals:

- Applying Pesticides Correctly (Item SM-1)

- Limited Commercial Landscape Maintenance Manual (Item SM-82) (These are the books you will need to study for the examination.)

STEP 3: Find 6 hours of LCLM training (CEUs) by calling your local chapter of the LMA, the Landscape Maintenance Association state office, or your local County Extension Office.

STEP 4: Fill out and send in the application form. You will need to include verification of your 6 hours of training, a photo, and a check in the amount of \$150, made payable to DACS for the examination fee.

STEP 5: Call your local County Extension Office to find the dates and times the Limited Commercial Landscape Maintenance Examination will be given.

STEP 6: Your exam results will be mailed to you. If you pass, you will need to submit proof of insurance (DACS Form 13654: Certificate of Insurance) before your certificate will be issued. If you fail, you must resubmit another application and fee.

STEP 7: Renew your certificate annually with 4 CEU's (ex. 2hrs Core, 2hrs LCLM).

What You Can Do After You Have Limited Certification in Commercial Landscape Maintenance

You are allowed to apply herbicides to control weeds in plant beds and to perform integrated pest management on ornamental plants using insecticides and fungicides having the signal word CAUTION on the label. However, the application equipment that may be used by a person certified pursuant to this section is limited to portable, hand-held, 3 gallon compressed air sprayers, or back pack sprayers having no more than a 5 gallon capacity, <u>not</u> including power equipment.

What You Can't Do

⁻Apply any pesticide (insecticide, herbicide, or fungicide) to the lawn or turf. This includes fertilizer/herbicide mixtures.

⁻Operate a pest control business. - Use power sprayers or any equipment with a capacity of more than 5 gallons.

DACS-P-00111 Rev (03/20) Report Illegal Operations to the following Offices:

Bureau of Inspection and Incident Response – (850) 617-7996 Need an Application Form or More Information About Certification?

Contact Headquarters By:

TELEPHONE (850) 617-7997

FAX (850) 617-7967

MAIL

3125 Conner Blvd, Bldg 8 Tallahassee, FL 32399-1650

or, visit our website:

http://www.fdacs.gov

Don't Break the Law! Don't Apply Pesticides without a License!