Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Service Division of Consumer Services

Motor Vehicle Repair

Nicole “Nikki” Fried Estimate and Invoice Requirements

(Dis

Commissioner

claimer: This checklist is provided for general informational purposes only and is not intended to provide legal

advice. Each motor vehicle repair shop should consult with its own legal counsel with respect to its particular
circumstances and obligations under the Florida Motor Vehicle Repair Act.)

Estimate Requirements 559.905(1), F.S.

In accordance with the Florida Motor Vehicle Repair Act s. 559.905, F.S., the motor vehicle repair estimate must
include at least the following items:

a

b

Page
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. The name, address, and telephone number of the motor vehicle repair shop.
. The name, address, and telephone number of the customer.
The date and time of the written repair estimate.
. The year, make, model, odometer reading, and license tag number of the motor vehicle.
. The proposed work completion date. (form may say promised)
A general description of the customer's problem or request for repair work or service relating to the motor vehicle.

A statement as to whether the customer is being charged according to a flat rate or an hourly rate, or both.

. ¥ The estimated cost of repair. The following must appear:

e The form must state whether the estimate includes a separate charge for shop supplies or hazardous/other waste
removal

o If the estimate includes a separate charge for shop supplies or hazardous/other waste removal, the form shall
include the following statement: "This charge represents costs and profits to the motor vehicle repair facility for
miscellaneous shop supplies or waste disposal.”

e The estimate shall contain a statement identifying charges mandated by state or federal law, as follows:

— If the estimate includes the sale of new tires it must state: F.S. 403.718 mandates a $1.00 fee for
each new tire sold in the State of Florida.

— If the estimate includes the sale of a new or remanufactured battery it must state: F.S. 403.7185
mandates a $1.50 fee for each new or remanufactured battery sold in the State of Florida.

The charge for making a repair price estimate or, if the charge cannot be predetermined, the basis on which the charge
will be calculated.

The customer's intended method of payment.

. The name and telephone number of another person who may authorize repair work, if the customer desires to

designate such person.

A statement indicating what, if anything is guaranteed in connection with the repair work and the time and mileage period
for which the guarantee is effective.
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m. A statement allowing the customer to indicate whether replaced parts should be saved for inspection or return.

n. *A statement indicating the daily charge for storing the customer's motor vehicle after the customer has been notified
that the repair work has been completed. However, no storage charges shall accrue or be due and payable for a period
of 3 working days from the date of such notification.

* IF CHARGES ARE ASSESSED FOR ITEMS “h” AND/OR “n” THEN A STATEMENT IS REQUIRED.

Estimate Requirements 559.905(2), F.S.

If the cost of repair work will exceed $100, the shop shall present to the customer a written notice conspicuously
disclosing, in a separate, blocked section, only the following statement, in capital letters of at least 12-point type:

PLEASE READ CAREFULLY, CHECK ONE OF THE
STATEMENTS BELOW, AND SIGN:

| UNDERSTAND THAT, UNDER STATE LAW, | AM
ENTITLED TO A WRITTEN ESTIMATE IF MY FINAL BILL
WILL EXCEED $100.

| REQUEST A WRITTEN ESTIMATE.

| DO NOT REQUEST A WRITTEN ESTIMATE AS
LONG AS THE REPAIR COSTS DO NOT EXCEED
$ . THE SHOP MAY NOT EXCEED THIS AMOUNT
WITHOUT MY WRITTEN OR ORAL APPROVAL.

| DO NOT REQUEST A WRITTEN ESTIMATE.
SIGNED DATE

Invoice Requirements 559.911, F.S.

In accordance with the Repair of Motor Vehicles Act s. 559.91, F.S., the motor vehicle repair invoice shall include the
following information:

1.

2.

The current date and odometer reading of the motor vehicle.
A statement indicating what was done to correct the problem or a description of the service provided.

An itemized description of all labor, parts, and merchandise supplied and the costs thereof, indicating what is
supplied to the customer without cost or at a reduced cost because of a shop or manufacturer's warranty.

A statement identifying any replacement part as being used, rebuilt, or reconditioned, as the case may be.

A statement indicating what, if anything, is guaranteed in connection with the repair work and the time and
mileage period for which the guarantee is effective.

The registration number from the certificate issued by the Department pursuant to this part.
New MVR shops that do not possess a registration number may provide an area designated for the registration
number.
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