FDACS License Requirements for Beekeepers using Restricted Use Pesticides

Any beekeeper looking to use a **Restricted Use Pesticide (RUP)** in their Integrated Pest Management Plan must have the correct licensure to buy or make any applications. Depending upon the application scenario, the license will fall into either Private Applicator Agriculture License Category (1C) or Commercial Applicator License – Agricultural Animal Category (1B). Please see license requirements and other details listed below to determine which license is best suited for your situation. For more information refer to <u>Chapter 487 Florida Statutes</u> and <u>Rule 5E-9</u> <u>Florida Administrative Code</u>.

Questions regarding license, renewal, and enforcement:

Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services Division of Agricultural Environmental Services Bureau of Licensing and Enforcement Pesticide Certification Section **850-617-7870**

Questions regarding materials and testing:

University of Florida – Institute of Food and Agricultural Sciences (UF/IFAS) Extension Pesticide Information Office <u>pested@ifas.ufl.edu</u> **352-392-4721**

Private Applicator Agriculture License Category (1C)

Required for:

- Applications on their own hives on their property
- Application on their hives on someone else's property
- Application on hives on property of their employer

License Fee Cost: \$100

Exam Information

Required Exams: CORE and Private Applicator Agriculture Pest Control

Locations: Exams can be taken at UF/IFAS Extension Offices and/or Everblue Remote Proctoring Service (online)

Study Materials: <u>Applying Pesticides Correctly</u>: <u>A Guide for Pesticide Applicators (CORE)</u> and <u>Private Applicator</u> <u>Agricultural Pest Control</u>

Renewal Information

Term: Required Renewal, every 4 Years

Renewal Requirements: \$100 fee, with 4 Core 487 CEUs and 4 Category (1C) Private Applicator Agricultural Pest Control CEUs. <u>FDACS Agricultural Pesticide Licenses (RUP) Ch. 487</u>, select "Renew License" and follow the instructions.

Apply Online: <u>FDACS Agricultural Pesticide Licenses (RUP) Ch. 487</u>, select "Exam SignUp (Obtain a New License), choose "Private Applicator", click "Next", and complete the required fields. Upon applying for the exam and obtaining a voucher, you will then schedule the exam via one of the locations listed above.

Recordkeeping

Licensed pesticide applicators shall maintain records relating to the application of all restricted use pesticides. Such records shall be retained for a period of two (2) years and shall be maintained in a manner that is accessible by authorized representatives. The <u>Suggested Pesticide Recordkeeping</u> template can provide guidance on the information that needs to be documented as a part of a pesticide application.



ORIDA HONEY BEE RESEARCH &

Commercial Applicator License – Agricultural Animal Category (1B)

Required for:

• Application for another person's hive on that person's property (includes any for-hire application)

License Fee Cost: \$250

Exam Information

Required Exams: CORE & Agriculture Animal

Locations: Exams can be taken at UF/IFAS Extension Offices and/or Everblue Remote Proctoring Service (online)

Study Materials: <u>Applying Pesticides Correctly: A Guide for Pesticide Applicators (CORE)</u> and <u>Agriculture Pest Control:</u> <u>Animals</u>

Renewal Information

Term: Required Renewal, every 4 Years

Renewal Requirements: \$250 fee, 4 Core 487 CEUs & 4 Category (1B) Agricultural Animal Pest Control CEUs

FDACS Agricultural Pesticide Licenses (RUP) Ch. 487, select "Renew License" and follow the instructions.

Apply Online: <u>FDACS Agricultural Pesticide Licenses (RUP) Ch. 487</u>, select "Exam SignUp (Obtain a New License)", choose "Commercial Applicator", click "Next", and complete the required fields. Upon applying for the exam and obtaining a voucher, you will then schedule the exam via one of the locations listed above.

Recordkeeping

Licensed pesticide applicators shall maintain records relating to the application of all restricted use pesticides. Such records shall be retained for a period of two (2) years and shall be maintained in a manner that is accessible by authorized representatives. The <u>Suggested Pesticide Recordkeeping</u> template can provide guidance on the information that needs to be documented as a part of a pesticide application.

Additional Resources

UF Pesticide Information Office Resources: <u>https://pested.ifas.ufl.edu/resources/</u>, scroll down to Applicators section of the webpage to find more specific resources.

More information on determining Pesticide Applicator License requirements:

Finding the Correct Pesticide Applicator License in Florida

Available review classes and CEU opportunities through UF/IFAS:

- Private Ag., English, <u>https://ifas-hillsborough.catalog.instructure.com/browse/vegetable-production/courses/private-applicator</u>
- Core Review, English <u>https://ifas-hillsborough.catalog.instructure.com/browse/vegetable-production/courses/core101</u>
- Core, English https://blogs.ifas.ufl.edu/polkco/2022/11/15/the-right-dose-video-series/
- Core, Spanish https://blogs.ifas.ufl.edu/polkco/2022/11/15/la-dosis-correcta-serie-de-videos/