

Post Office Box 5647 Tallahassee, Florida 32314-5647

4040 Esplanade Way, Suite 135 Tallahassee, Florida 32399

## FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER SERVICES COMMISSIONER WILTON SIMPSON

Florida House Bill 543 was signed into law by Governor DeSantis on April 3, 2023. Below are some common questions and answers regarding this legislation.

- **Q.** What does House Bill 543 do in terms of concealed firearm licensing in Florida?
- A. House Bill 543 doesn't eliminate the Department's authority to issue licenses to carry concealed weapons to qualified individuals; however, it removes the requirement for having a concealed firearm license to carry a concealed firearm in Florida. To carry a concealed weapon or concealed firearm without a license, you must be eligible for a Florida Concealed Weapon or Firearm License based on the criteria in Section 790.06, F.S., except you are not required to complete training or pay a licensing fee.
- **Q.** When does House Bill 543 take effect?
- A. House Bill 543 will take effect on July 1, 2023.
- **Q**. Which other states have "constitutional carry" or "permitless carry"?
- **A.** Laws vary by state. If you are traveling to another state, it is your responsibility to know and comply with that state's laws.
- **Q.** Will FDACS still be authorized to issue Florida Concealed Weapon or Firearm Licenses?
- A. Yes. HB 543 doesn't eliminate the Department's authority to issue licenses to carry concealed weapons to qualified individuals. Licenses will still be valid for seven years, and the requirements for obtaining the license are unchanged. Applicants can apply for or renew a license by mail, online, at an FDACS regional office, or at an approved tax collector location.
- **Q.** I have a Florida Concealed Weapon or Firearm License and want to keep it. Will I still be able to renew it after July 1, 2023?
- A. Yes, license holders can continue to renew after July 1, 2023.
- **Q.** Are Florida Concealed Weapon or Firearm License holders still exempt from the three-day waiting period when purchasing a firearm?
- **A.** Yes, the three-day waiting period does not apply to Florida Concealed Weapon or Firearm License holders.
- **Q.** Can FDACS tell me if I am eligible for a license?
- A. FDACS cannot determine anyone's eligibility for a Florida Concealed Weapon of Firearm License without receiving a complete application including background check results. FDACS cannot provide legal advice to individuals. Persons with questions about how their criminal history may affect their ability to carry concealed firearms or qualify for a Florida Concealed Weapon or Firearm License should contact a private attorney. House Bill 543 includes criminal penalties for people who are not eligible to carry a concealed weapon or concealed firearm and are caught doing so.

- **Q.** I just paid for my license. Will my fees be refunded?
- **A.** Pursuant to Florida law, all fees previously incurred to obtain or renew a Florida Concealed Weapon or Firearm License are non-refundable.
- **Q.** I don't live in Florida; how can I carry a concealed firearm while visiting?
- A. A resident of the United States who is 21 years of age or older (18 years of age or older for service members and honorably discharged veterans of the United States Armed Forces) will be able to carry concealed weapons or concealed firearms based on satisfying the criteria for receiving and maintaining a Florida Concealed Weapon or Firearm License or having a license issued by their state of residence. Effective July 1, 2023, the State of Florida acknowledges all concealed firearm licenses lawfully issued by another state. Non-residents who want a Florida Concealed Weapon or Firearm License can still apply for one. Persons with questions about whether they satisfy the criteria for receiving and maintaining a Florida Concealed Weapon or Firearm License or having a license issued by their state of residence.
- **Q.** Can I openly carry a firearm in Florida?
- **A.** With limited statutory exceptions (see S. 790.25, F.S.), open carry of firearms is not lawful in Florida. Persons with questions about whether those exceptions apply to them should contact a private attorney for assistance.
- **Q.** I have a Florida Concealed Weapon or Firearm License. Are there any places I cannot carry?
- **A.** Yes, please see Section 790.06(12), F.S. No changes to the list of prohibited places were included in this House Bill 543.